OTTAWA – Maymar Gemmell, Toro Suzuki and Albert Olson have been inducted into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame, the Canadian Curling Association announced Tuesday.

Gemmell, who was born in Toronto and resides in Blind River, Ont., was inducted in the curler/builder category. As a curler, she won two Canadian senior women’s championships, in 1990 and 1993, as second and lead, respectively, for Ontario skip Jill Greenwood.

She also skipped British Columbia and Northern Ontario at the Canadian Seniors and skipped the United States at the 1991 world curling championships in Winnipeg.

As a builder, she was one of the driving forces behind the birth of the Northern Ontario Curling Association, an amalgamation of various regional curling associations.

Suzuki and Olson, both of Winnipeg, played third second respectively for late Manitoba skip Lloyd (Gunner) Gunnlaugson, when the team won a record three consecutive Canadian senior men’s titles from 1982-84. The team’s record while winning the titles was an astounding 30-4, capped by an undefeated 11-0 mark in 1984 in St. John’s, N.L.

Gunnlaugson, who died in 1988, was posthumously inducted into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame in 1989.

The inductees will be recognized at the annual general meetings of their respective provincial curling associations.

Website Pin Facebook Twitter Myspace Friendfeed Technorati Digg Google StumbleUpon Premium Responsive